Still Life with Books…

by 7

d4msquared

I was wading through rearranging the books in my library this past weekend. I got through 5 shelves of 30…not an impressive start, I know, but an earnest one. While working I remembered a piece I had written quite a while ago about books…recommending books…loving books. So when I was tired of rearranging I went looking for it. It was first published online at bookstove.com and republished with added images here.


Just a few short weeks ago, the Captain put the finishing touches on our library/music room. The transformation from “side-yard-under-the-old-oak-tree-adjacent-to-the-attached-falling-down-shed” to “bright-warm- inviting-addition-with-French-doors-out-onto-the-back-deck-and-floor-to-ceiling-bookshelves” was not an easy one. He did virtually everything by himself. I mean, I held the occasional stringer in place and I wallpapered. But those seem rather insignificant contributions in comparison to foundation work, framing, flooring, roofing, painting, masonry and electrical work. Not to mention laying the carpet and moving all the…

View original post 3,130 more words

