I Want To Know What Love Is

by 7

My hands search and scan the pages. They trace along the words, phrases, sentences, paragraphs that are well printed in each turn. I have to admit that I somehow crave the smell of the written chapters, the pages full of wonder, adventure, fear, trust, and love. And there it is, the word worth searching for: Love.

Love. Books. These two words are pretty much the same for me.

Image

🙂

So regarding the question in the Daily Prompt—”Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?”—I really don’t have any quotations or the like. I have actually some thoughts, it’s at the back of my mind but can’t somehow push them out and make the words right. But yes! I do believe that there is, at some point somehow.

And keeping in touch with the post title (from the Daily Prompt) and with what I said that I just love (books!), let me share you some thoughts of Lenacharacter from Delirium written by the great Lauren Oliver; which I just finished reading a few days agoconcerning what love is. And here goes:

Love, the deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t. But that isn’t it, exactly. The condemner and the condemned. The executioner; the blade; the last-minute reprieve; the gasping breath and the rolling sky above you and the thank you, thank you, thank you, God. Love: It will kill you and save you, both.

And now I know why they invented words for love, why they had to: it’s the only thing that can come close to describing what I feel in that moment, the baffling mixture of pain and pleasure and fear and joy, all running sharply through me at once.

And I do believe that God is love, and that love is everything, and that every little thing has its importance, and so God’s love’s important, everything, and the ultimate.

Here’s the link for the Daily Prompt! And here’s for the book Delirium if you’re interested and also a bookfly! 🙂

Lots of loooooooooooovvvveeeeeee~

