Paperback Hangover

by 7

I always have this disposition in a duet or any trilogy series (that I have read) that when I finally approach the last book—excitement surges deep inside me, and at the same time, sadness comes creeping in.

It is, always that way.

Like when you will know the conclusion to the story and the what-ifs of having a sad or a happy ending. The feeling of staying and wanting to be up all night just to know more and grasp more answers to the questions buried in your mind after reading the previous book. The feeling of turning the page into the final chapter. The feeling of reading the very last sentence of the entire series.

And you end up feeling a bit lost in reality. Knowing the whole point and matter and dialogues and happenings of the story, they keep playing in your mind for a moment, so overwhelming you feel you’re in that world too. Like you became a part of it. Like it became a part of you.

Then you go back in reality again.

That, for me, is how it always go.

So, I just finished reading Allegiant (written by Veronica Roth). And all my words above stroke a chord inside all of me, after closing the book. There were really a lot of information and revelations that I needed to grasp and comprehend with in Allegiant. There were such power in the plot and vibrancy in the characters. But I’m not writing this to write a book review. No. I’m not really good at that. I just want to part some thoughts (which I just wrote, so goal #1 is cleared, yay) and share the beliefs and views of some characters (explicitly from Beatrice, Tobias, and Christina) that hit me so darn hard good.

And here they are:

“The person you became with her is worth being.” -C

“They say that if the sacrifice is the ultimate way for the person to show you that they love you, you should let them do it.” -T

“If I had forgiven him, I would be able to think of what happened without that hatred I can feel in my gut, right? Or maybe forgiveness is just the continual pushing aside of bitter memories, until time dulls the hurt and the anger, and the wrong is forgotten.” -B

“I don’t belong to Abnegation, or Dauntless, or even the Divergent. I don’t belong to the Bureau or the experiment or the fringe. I belong to the people I love, and they belong to me—they, and the love and loyalty I give them, form my identity far more than any word or group ever could.” -B

“You know, there’s a word for big, strong men who attack women, and it’s coward.” -C

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.” -T

“Yeah, sometimes life really sucks. But you know what I’m holding on for? The moments that don’t suck. The trick is to notice them when they come around.” –C

“But the fire, the fire. The desire to live. I am not done yet, I am not.” –B

“When you have to choose between two bad options, you pick the one that saves the people you love and believe in most. You just do.” –B

“Since I was young, I have always known this: Life damages us, every one. We can’t escape that damage. But now, I am also learning this: We can be mended. We mend each other.” –T

So there. Um…I think I just shared too much? (Nah…haha)

But in all hopes I really think that these beliefs are really something and should be meant and weighed a lot. Thank you dear author.

choice

Choices. Choices. Choices.

That’s what I learned in the story the most. They will either transform you, destroy, or define you. Choices are never going anywhere because they will always stay in your life. From the moment of waking or continuing to drift off, they are just there right around the corners of your being.

So therefore, choose what should be chosen. It’s your choice.

It is up to you.

